top of page


Yonah Yoga provides the Sautee Valley & surrounding area with several different styles of yoga to choose from. Click here for Class Descriptions.


 Yoga is quickly becoming a preferred method of maintaining a healthy body & mind. The word yoga is Sanskrit meaning "to yoke" or "to bind" and is often interpreted as "union". Yoga is a method of discipline and is comprised of 8 limbs, or parts. 

  1. Yamas (Social Ethics)

  2. Niyamas (Positive Duties) 

  3. Asana (Postures) 

  4. Pranayama (Regulation/Control of Breath)

  5. Pratyahara (Withdrawal of Senses)

  6. Dharana (Concentration)

  7. Dhyana (Meditation)

  8. Samadhi (Liberation) 


As we explore these eight limbs, we begin refining our behavior and our relation to the outer world. Today, most of the population practices the third limb,"asana" (postures), which is designed to purify the body and provide strength and endurance required for long periods of meditation. There is controversy of when and how yoga practice evolved. Some say yoga has been around for thousands of years, some say as early as the 1800's. Either way, yoga has been proven to not only utilize our body by synchronizing movements with our breath, but to heighten our sense of well-being and our relation to our part in the world.

View Class Descriptions HERE

FAQ for Yoga HERE

Private Sessions Available Click HERE for more info

bottom of page